Using PreFlight Test Send

Applies To:    PoliteMail Desktop      PoliteMail Online     PoliteMail O365


Version:  4.94    4.97    5.0+


PoliteMail recommends sending a test message to yourself and a colleague before pushing out a large message or campaign.

The Preflight Test Send feature allows users to test a completed message prior to sending. Users can check the design and flow on both desktop and mobile, as well as links and smart attachments within the message.




To utilize this feature, in a New Email, navigate to PoliteMail Flag > PreFlight Test Send. 

  • If you are using PoliteMail online, PreFlight Test Send is located under Send Options.
  • If you are using PoliteMail for Microsoft 365, PreFlight Test Send is located in the PoliteMail pane, in the drop-down menu under the large 'Send and Measure' button.

PoliteMail will create a duplicate of the message in a separate window. Distribution Lists will be removed and the only recipient will be the user/sender. The subject line will also now begin with “PREVIEW”. You can add as many recipients in the To: field if you want multiple recipients to preview your message before sending it.

Make any needed changes to the original completed email (still open or saved as a draft) and then send to final recipients.

Setting PreFlight Messages to Automatically Delete

You can set Preflight messages to automatically delete after a specified time period in your Preferences.  See this article for more information.

PreFlight Metric Results

PreFlights are included in the metric results, which may inflate your metrics. If you would like to automatically delete PreFlight messages after a specified time, you can go to Account > Preferences and turn on the Delete any preflight messages older than preference.

Go to PoliteMail > Results > Messages.

At the top of the page, you can choose to show just Preflights, or all messages. If you want to remove all your Preflights from your results, click on Show Preflight, then choose the select all radio button at the top of the page. You can then click the Delete button to remove all Preflights from your metric results.