Create a Subscription List with Opt-Out Options in PoliteMail 4.8-4.9

This process is for PoliteMail users on version 4.8 - 4.9.  For later versions, click here.

A subscription list enables your recipients to opt-in and opt-out of the list themselves. You will need to give recipients the option to opt-out if sending to a region with anti-spam laws. A list of global anti-spam laws can be found here

Customizing Your Opt-Out Page

It’s a good idea to begin by customizing your Opt-out page. Go to the PoliteMail from the Outlook Ribbon and choose Settings>Opt-out

Now you can begin to customize your Opt-out page. Choose Modify.


You can add a company logo and change the text. If you add a logo, make sure you click Upload to add the logo to the PoliteMail server. You can also Preview your page.

When you have finished, click Save.

Now when you compose a new message in PoliteMail, the Opt-Out option will automatically appear at the bottom of your message.

Creating a Subscription List

Go to PoliteMail in the Outlook Ribbon and click Lists > Mailing Lists.

Under the New pull-down menu, you have the option of creating a Filtered, Contact, or Hierarchy Lists.

Name your list, and then change No to Yes in the Subscription column.

subscription_yes_or_no.PNG

Click Update to create the list. You can now either manually populate the mailing list, or Import a mailing list you created. For more information about importing mailing lists, click here

Once your mailing list is populated, you can either go to Actions > Send New Message, or open a New PoliteMail message, and click the To field. Your new list should appear as an option.

actions_new_list.PNG

Once you’ve typed your message, go to PoliteMail Flag > Enable Opt-Out.

enable_opt-out.PNG

Your custom opt-out message should now appear at the bottom of your email.

If your recipient chooses to opt-out, they will then be taken to your custom opt-out page to complete the opt-out.

Their email address in your Mailing List will also note that they have opted-out and will no longer receive messages from you.