Defining Users and Groups

PoliteMail Users & Groups

How to Define and Assign Users and Groups, and how Regions & Business Units Control Report and Content Sharing

PoliteMail provides role based administration with three user types, Admin, Manager and User. With our Enterprise solution, these users may also be organized into Groups (Regions and Business Units) within a simple grid system.

User type, Region and Business Unit assignments control how reports, content, and lists are made accessible to Users within the system.

Only Admin users have the ability to manage other users (assigning/re-assigning user licenses, assigning User types, Regions and/or Business Units).

PoliteMail Users and Groups

Admins have access to all. Managers can access everything within their Region and/or Business Unit. Users can only access what they create, or anything shared within their Region AND Business Unit. Learn more about User types

By default, Users can only see reports for email they send (and for email addresses they can send from), can only access content and lists they create, and any content and lists shared by other users within their group. A User must explicitly share a template or list, if they want to make it available to other Users on the system.

For an open sharing configuration, where you want all PoliteMail Users to see and share each other’s reports, content (templates, graphics), and lists, then set each user to be an Admin.

Managing Users and Groups

From PoliteMail Account Settings, select the Users & Groups tab (Note: Only Admin users will have this tab available).

From this page, you may add users (assign a license), or change users (reassign a license by changing user name and email address), and organize users into Region or Business Unit Groups (Enterprise edition).

To Assign Users to Groups

PoliteMail for Outlook Users and Groups

You may edit the User either by double-clicking on the User record, or single-clicking to modify the Group (Region and Business Unit) selections. If editing inline, you must click off the record to save your selections.

To Add a Group (Region or Business Unit)

From PoliteMail Account Settings, select the Users & Groups tab (Note: Only Admin users will have this tab available), then click the Define Regions and Business Units link.

definegroups
Region and Business Unit are the default group names, but you may redefine these. In other words, if you wanted to use Division instread of Region, or Department instead of Business Unit, simply input those new names into the field to the right of Region: and Business: and Save.

Now add a new group name:

  1. Select the [ Add New ] item within the list (default when list is empty)
  2. Type your list item into the List Item: field
  3. Click the Add button


When you are finished, click the Save button at the bottom right of the dialog box.

To Edit a Group Name (Region or Business Unit List Item)

  1. Select the list item within the list
  2. Edit the text of list item into the List Item: field
  3. Click the Update button


When you are finished, click the Save button at the bottom.

Delete a Region or Business Unit List Item

  1. Select the list item within the list box
  2. Click the Delete button


Note that any existing items assigned to the deleted category will no longer be assigned to any category. When you are finished, click the Save button at the bottom.

To Change the Region or Business Unit Labels

If you have a different organizational structure other than Region and Business Units, you may still organize your users, content and lists into groups by renaming these categories.

To change the label, simply edit the text entry to the right of Region: or Business: with your own organizational category name (e.g. Division or Department), then click the Save button. Now, within the rest of the system, these categories will be labeled with the new names you just assigned.

Adding Users to Your Account

Adding Users to Your PoliteMail Account

PoliteMail Users and Groups

As the PoliteMail Admin user, start from PoliteMail Account Settings, and select the Users & Group tab.

PoliteMail for Outlook is licensed on a per-seat basis, so one User may send from multiple email addresses (e.g. their own personal email address and a shared mailbox), but each person who sends PoliteMail messages from any email address (even a shared mailbox address) requires a PoliteMail for Outlook license.

One user may install the PoliteMail for Outlook software on multiple machines for their own use (e.g. a desktop and a laptop), however multiple people may not share one license.

Add New PoliteMail for Outlook User

To Add A New User:

You will see a list of PoliteMail Users currently within your account, and on the top bar will see a count of available user licenses which you may assign. To assign one of these licenses, click the New User button, then enter the new User’s name and email address information.

Add or Modify a PoliteMail User

There are three user types available, Admin, Manager and User.

Admin users may assign/reassign licenses, may access all other users tracked send and results reports, and see/modify any other User’s templates or lists.

Managers of a Group (Region and/or Business Unit) may access User reports within their group.

Users have access to reports for their own sends, and any content (templates/images) or lists they create, or any content or lists shared by other users within their group. Users may explicitly share templates and lists with other users within their group.

When a Group (Region/Business Unit) is set to blank, it is equivalent to “All”. Learn more about PoliteMail Groups

Note that when the Send Set-up Email box is checked, PoliteMail will automatically generate an email which you can send to the User, containing their PoliteMail Server connection credentials (email, registration key server name). Otherwise, the admin should copy the registration key and send it to the user, or otherwise input it into their PoliteMail Connection Settings dialog on their client machine. This also applies when the reset registration key option is used.

To Reassign A License To A New User:

A PoliteMail license may be reassigned at any time. Simply double-click on any user name within the list, and reassign the license by editing the name and email address within the dialog, then click save.  When Send Email is checked, PoliteMail will automatically generate an email to the new user email address which contains their PoliteMail credentials. Note: the previous users data (including tracked sends and results, templates, lists, images, etc.) will remain and become accessible to this newly assigned.

To Reset A Registration Key

If a PoliteMail user loses their registration key, or they get a new machine and need to reinstall PoliteMail but do not have a copy of their existing registration key, the Admin may reset the registration key by double-clicking the user name, and clicking the Reset button within the Modify User dialog box.

To Delete a User (free up a license)

Select a user or user(s), then press the X button on the menu bar.

IMPORTANT NOTE:  When you delete a user, you will lose the tracking data associated with that user (all their tracked sends and results).  To keep this data, reassign the license to a different email address instead of deleting.

Deleted users will  also lose access to any owned templates, images, smart attachments.

Before deleting the user, ownership should be set to all users, with sharing turned on before the user is deleted.

Assigning Users to Groups:

Users may also be organized into different groups (Regions and/or Business units, which control how content, lists and reports are shared.