Sharing PoliteMail Lists and Contacts with other PoliteMail users within your Account.
The concepts of sharing and ownership allow you to control who can see your lists and contacts.
By default, the user who imports or creates the list is the owner of it. When importing, the user can assign ownership of the list to another person, or to ‘All Users’. When an item is assigned to ‘All Users’ then all or any user will be able to view, modify or delete it. The owner is the only user, other than an admin, who may modify (save over) or delete an item. The owner may reassign ownership to another user, and may elect to share the list with other user (allow other users to view, edit).
Sharing Mailing Lists with Other Users
Within a multi-user installation of PoliteMail, you can share mailing lists and contacts with other users within your account. This data is never shared or otherwise distributed outside of your own PoliteMail account database.
Lists are not shared by default. Only the user who creates the item will be able to view it within PoliteMail, until that item is specifically shared. To share a list, start at the PoliteMail menu at the top of the inbox, then select the Manage Lists button. Here, select any list you wish to share, then use Actions > Set Sharing.
Sharing within Groups (Regions and/or Business Units)
The concepts of Regions and Business Units provide an additional level of control and organization for your mailing lists. These tools are available within the PoliteMail Enterprise Server or Cloud Server implementations. An additional user type of Manager also becomes an available option with these versions.
Regions and Business Unit organization limits the scope of the sharing, such that only users within the same region and/or business unit will be able to share those lists and contacts. For example, a user in the Northeast region would be able to share a mailing list with another user in the Northeast region, but would have no access to any lists shared by users in the Southwest region. In the same way, a user in the Healthcare business unit would be able to share a lists with other users within Healthcare, and would not see any lists shared by users in the Transportation unit.
By default, if a user belongs to a region or business unit, those settings are applied to any list they create, so once sharing is activated, it remains within that group. If a list needs to be shared with a wider audience, the content ownership may be assigned to a manager or admin user, and when they share it will be across all their available groups.
To assign a region or business unit to a mailing list, start at the PoliteMail menu at the top of the inbox, and click the Manage Lists button. Here you may single-click on a list name, and use the Region or Business Unit pull-down buttons to assign the group settings.
Note: If a user assigns an item to a group outside of their scope, they will no longer be able to view/modify that item.